51st Annual Edith Knox
Performance Competition
The application period is closed.

First Prize $1600

Preliminary Competition
(Audience By Special Invitation)
January 20, 2024 9am-5pm
Los Angeles Harbor College

Second Prize $850

Final Showcase Competition
(Open to the public)
February 11, 2024, 2pm-6pm
Redondo Union High School
222 Pacific Coast Highway
Redondo Beach,CA 90277

The First Place winner will be invited to perform as soloist with the Peninsula Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Maestro David Cubek, at our June 23, 2024 concert, and in recital on May 3, 2024 in Classical Crossroads' First Fridays at First concert series at Torrance, California. On-line applications will be accepted from November 1, 2023 through Noon (Pacific Standard Time) of January 5, 2024 .

Cash Prizes
First Place $1600
Second Place $850
Third Place $600
Fourth Place $450
Fifth Place $350

Competition Rules:

The Competition is open to instrumentalists who have not attained the age of 25 by June 1, 2024. Proof of age may be required at the Preliminary Competition. Audition times will be assigned based upon date applications are received. In the event there are an unusually large number of applicants, you may be asked to provide a link to a sample performance, and not all applicants may be selected for the preliminary round.

Entrants must perform a concerto in its entirety or other work for solo instrument and orchestra from the standard repertoire that is equivalent in terms of difficulty and length. Selections are subject to approval by the Chairs of the Knox and Artistic committees and the Music Director and must be performed from memory with piano accompaniment.

Accompanists must be provided for both Preliminary and Final Competitions. Please ensure your accompanist is available for both performances. In addition to appearing at both Competitions, finalists must be available to appear in concert with the Symphony on June 23, 2024 and are required to attend scheduled one or two rehearsals at Harbor College and the final rehearsal on June 23 at Redondo Union High School. The winner must also be available to play a short, solo recital at 12:15 PM on May 3 in the Classical Crossroads' First Fridays at First concert series. An honorarium of $1000 will be provided by Classical Crossroads for this recital.

Decisions of the judges are final. Neither oral nor written critiques will be provided.

Applications must be submitted on-line beginning November 1, 2023 and not later than noon (PST) on January 5, 2024.

Edith Knox Performance Competition and prizes are made possible through support provided by Edith Knox Fund, the Mimi Horowitz Fund, and individual donors (Angels).


Results from 2023

Winner Cameron Akioka, Piano Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major
Second Rin Homma, Piano Ravel: Piano Concerto G major
Third Sophie Bell, Violin Dvořák: Violin Concerto in A minor
Fourth Lauren Spring, Trumpet Neruda: Trumpet Concerto in E-flat major
Fifth Nathaniel Yue, Cello Schumann: Cello Concerto in A minor

Results from 2022

Winner Mei Hotta, Cello Shostakovich: Cello Concerto in E-flat major
Second David Choi, Piano Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major
Third Rachel Kim, Violin Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D major
FourthElaine Tai, Cello Schumann: Cello in A minor
Fifth Natalie Kwok, Cello Tchaikovsky: Variations of a Rococo Theme

Results from 2020

Winner Mi-Hyun Suh, Piano Chopin: Concerto for Piano in F minor
Second (tie)Tiffany Koo Piano Tchaikovsky: Concerto No. 1 for Piano
Second (tie)Kevin Song, CelloTchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme
ThirdAustin Ho, PianoRachmaninoff: Rhapsody on Paganini
Fourth Dallas Noble, Violin Sibelius: Concerto for Violin in D minor

Results from 2019

Winner Audrey Park, Violin Sibelius: Concerto for Violin in D minor
Second Irene Lee, Cello Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme
Third (tie)Tiffany Koo Piano Tchaikovsky: Concerto No. 1 for Piano
Third (tie)Dominik Yoder, PianoRachmaninoff: Rhapsody on Paganini
Fourth Eilene Tai, Cello Elgar: Cello Concerto

Results from 2018

Winner Victor Shlyaknenko, Piano Liszt Concerto for Piano No. 1
Second Strauss Shir, Violin Sibelius: Concerto for Violin in D minor
Third Max Hammond, Violin Prokofiev: Concerto for Piano No. 3 in C major,
Fourth Clayton Dungey, Tuba Vaughn Williams: Concerto for Tuba
Fifth Annie SeEun Hyung, Cello Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor

Results from 2017

Winner Nicholas Mariscal, Cello Samuel Barber: Concerto for Cello, Opus 22
Second Michael Harper, Trumpet Arutunian: Concerto for Trumpet
Third Heidi Hatch, Violin Korngold: Concerto for Violin, Opus 35
Fourth Tomlin Su, Violin Glazunov: Concerto for Violin, Opus 82
Fifth Max Hammond, Piano Schumann: Piano Concerto, Opus 54

Results from 2016

WinnerCaroline Ho Tchaikovsky Concerto No. 1 for Piano in B-flat minor, Opus 23
SecondRainer Crosett Bloch Schelomo: Hebraic Rhapsody for Cello
Third Dillon Parker Edward Gregson Concerto for Trumpet
Forth Max Hammond Rachmaninoff Concerto for Piano No. 2 in C minor, Opus 18
Fifth Kristi Kim Elgar Concerto for Cello in E minor, Opus 85

Results from 2015

Winner Jihyun Lily Moon Liszt Piano Concerto No. 2 in A major, S. 125
Second Usha Kapoor Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E minor, Opus 64
Third Minh NguyenRachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Opus 30
Fourth Kristi KimElgar Cello Concerto in E minor, Opus 85
Fifth Jamie Kim Chaminade Flute Concertino in D major, Opus 107

Results from 2014

Winner Erick Y. ChongDvořák Concerto for Cello in B minor
Second Howard ChenProkofiev Concerto no. 3 for Piano in C major
Third Karen Su Bruch Violin Concerto no. 1 G minor
FourthJeffery Li Schumann Cello Concerto in A minor
Fifth Yuet Ka (Keri) HuiSaint-Saëns Piano Concerto no. 5 in F major

Results from 2013

WinnerHao Zhou Wienaiwski Violin Concerto no. 1
Second Joseph Morris Nielsen Clarinet Concerto
Third Erick Y. Chong Tchaikovsky Rococo Variations for Cello in A major
Third Shotaro Matsumoto Beethoven Piano Concerto no. 1 in C major
Honorable Mention Karen Su Wieniawski Violin Concerto no. 2 in D minor
Honorable Mention Geneva Lewis Saint-Saëns Violin Concerto no. 3
Honorable Mention Noah Sonderling Prokofiev Piano Concerto no. 1 in D♭

Results from 2012

WinnerMichelle TsengTchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D
SecondJonathan Mamora Prokofiev Piano Concerto no. 3
ThirdJeffery LiProkofiev Sinfonia Concertante in E minor
ThirdJesse ChenSibelius Violin Concerto
Honorable MentionYifan ZhouBrahms Violin Concerto in D
Honorable MentionIsabella MaGrieg Piano Concerto in A minor

Peninsula Symphony Association 916 Silver Spur Road #303 Rolling Hills Estates, CA 90274
For information: call 310-544-0320 Tax ID 23-7008895
E-mail email@pensym.org

Bruce Erickson Web Master